4POS Support

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Error on running automatic upgrade  (Read 278 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 378
Error on running automatic upgrade
« on: June 06, 2017, 05:01:23 PM »

On some older versions - most likely 17.5.7.7 you may get an error when running the automatic upgrade or you might even find that the download never finishes.....

(some customers very suprised that it has been downloading for 2 days now..... :-X

Please End task on the 4POSbackoffice & either run c:\4posupgrade\4posexeupgrades.exe

or :

download & run from here :

http://www.4pos.co.za/support/index.php/topic,656.0.html

« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 02:14:45 PM by Admin »
Logged

MTheron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Error on running automatic upgrade
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2017, 08:17:17 AM »

Hi,
I have tried running the upgrade, and then re-running it as per the instructions, but my backoffice still won't open properly.
On opening it spins at the login window for some time, and then I cannot input my userid and password.

I've downloaded and run the upgrade a few times now, and I can't figure out why it won't work.

Also I've noticed when opening the Controller now after the upgrade, the controller window does not come up, so I try to open it again, and the pc says that it is 'already running', but we can't see it.

Any advice greatly appreciated  :)
Logged

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 378
Re: Error on running automatic upgrade
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2017, 05:58:01 AM »

No virus!

Tested by Kaspersky...

There are dll's in the upgrade & the Anti Virus programs pick that up as a threat...

Ensure you do not change the extract folder from c:\Temp4POS - critical!
Logged

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 378
Re: Error on running automatic upgrade
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2017, 10:01:47 AM »

Just upgraded a customer that complained about the same.

On some of the Anti-virus programs, (Seems especially Microsoft Essentials) you need to go into the Anti-virus settings & disable Auto protect for 1 hour or till pc restarts.

Then run upgrade & then enable auto protect again.

Adding to this :

Now go into the settings & exclude the 4POS & 4POSServer folders! Or if you really want to - all the exe programs in those two folders...
« Last Edit: June 10, 2017, 02:20:32 AM by Admin »
Logged

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 378
Logged